What is the abdominopelvic cavity lined with?

The abdominopelvic cavity is lined with a serous membrane called the peritoneum. This membrane expands from the internal surface of the abdominal wall to completely or partially surround organs of the abdominopelvic cavities.

What are the 4 quadrants of the abdominopelvic cavity?

Four abdominal quadrants

  • right upper quadrant fossa (RUQ)
  • right lower quadrant fossa (RLQ)
  • left lower quadrant fossa (LLQ)
  • left upper quadrant fossa (LUQ)

What are the regions and quadrants that the abdominopelvic cavity can be divided into?

The abdominopelvic cavity can be subdivided into four quadrants and nine areas. The quadrants are labeled by location: the right upper, right lower, left upper, and left lower quadrants.

What are the four quadrants and nine regions of the abdominopelvic cavity?

Four Quadrants and nine regions of the abdominopelvic cavity

  • Hypochonadriac ( Right and left)
  • Lumbar ( Right and left)
  • Iliac (Right and left)
  • Epigastric (upper mid)
  • Umbilical (center mid)
  • Hypogastric (Pubic)

Which membrane covers the organs inside the abdominal cavity and pelvic cavity?

The peritoneum is the serous membrane that lines the abdominal cavity. It is composed of mesothelial cells that are supported by a thin layer of fibrous tissue and is embryologically derived from the mesoderm.

How is the abdomen divided into 9 regions?

These planes divide the abdomen into nine regions:

  1. Right hypochondriac.
  2. Right lumbar (or flank)
  3. Right illiac.
  4. Epigastric.
  5. Umbilical.
  6. Hypogastric (or pubic)
  7. Left hypochondriac.
  8. Left lumbar (or flank)

Which organs are located in the peritoneal cavity?

The peritoneal cavity contains the omentum, ligaments, and mesentery. Intraperitoneal organs include the stomach, spleen, liver, first and fourth parts of the duodenum, jejunum, ileum, transverse, and sigmoid colon.

How many quadrants are there in the abdominal cavity?

The abdominal cavity in the human body has four parts or quadrants, located inside our abdomen. First, the upper-right quadrant consists of the liver, stomach, duodenum, pancreas, colon, transverse colon and right kidney.

What are the upper abdominopelvic regions?

Upper abdominopelvic regions includes the right and left hypochondriac regions and the epigastric region. Middle Regions include the right and left lumbar regions and the umbilical region.

What are organs in the abdominopelvic regions?

Each of the 9 abdomen regions hold their own important organs: Right hypcochondrium – Small intestine, right kidney, gallbladder, liver Left hypochondrium – Pancreas, left kidney, colon, spleen Epigastrium – Adrenal glands, spleen, pancreas, duodenum, liver, stomach Right lumbar region – Right colon, liver, gallbladder Left lumbar region – Left kidney, descending colon

What quadrant is the abdomen in?

The quadrants are: the left lower quadrant, the right lower quadrant, the left upper quadrant, and the right upper quadrant. The reason for dividing the abdomen into four different quadrants is that it assists physicians and anatomists in diagnosing, studying, and giving therapy to problems associated with the different regions of the abdomen.