What are the 13 American colonies in order?

Over the next century, the English established 13 colonies. They were Virginia, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia.

What are all the names of the 13 colonies?

The story journal will go in order as follows: Virginia, New York, Massachusetts, Maryland, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Delaware, North Carolina, South Carolina, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Georgia. Introduction to the map making of the Thirteen Original Colonies.

Why were each of the 13 colonies founded?

Many of the colonies were founded by religious leaders or groups looking for religious freedom. These colonies included Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Maryland, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. Other colonies were founded purely in hopes of creating new trade opportunities and profits for investors.

What is another name for the 13 colonies?

The Thirteen Colonies, also known as the Thirteen British Colonies or the Thirteen American Colonies, were a group of British colonies on the Atlantic coast of North America.

Is Maine a 13 Colony?

Where were the original 13 Colonies situated? The original 13 colonies were Delaware, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts Bay Colony (which included Maine), New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island and Providence Plantations.

What were the original 13 states of the United States?

The United States of America initially consisted of 13 states that had been British colonies until their independence was declared in 1776 and verified by the Treaty of Paris in 1783: New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware.

What were the names of the first 13 American colonies?

The Thirteen Colonies Virginia (1607) – John Smith and the London Company. New York (1626) – Originally founded by the Dutch. New Hampshire (1623) – John Mason was the first land holder. Massachusetts Bay (1630) – Puritans looking for religious freedom. Maryland (1633) – George and Cecil Calvert as a safe haven for Catholics.

What are the names of the states of the 13 colonies?


  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Pennsylvania
  • How were the 13 colonies got their names?

    How the 13 Colonies Were Named The first thirteen colonies were either named after people, Indian names or, places in England. The original states/colonies are, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, Georgia, North Carolina, Maryland, South Carolina, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia, New Hampshire and New Jersey.

    What are the first 13 colonies in America?

    The Thirteen Colonies were New Hampshire, Massachusettes, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, Carolina, and Georgia. With the signing of the Declaration of Independence, the thirteen colonies became the first 13 states of the Unites State of America.