Is there a USA team in the Tour de France?

North Americans Riding the Tour de France in 2021. While rosters are still being finalized, when the Tour de France begins next Saturday in Brittany we expect there to be only seven North Americans on the starting line—four Americans and three Canadians—which is three more than started last year.

What was the first American team in the Tour de France?

Renault-Elf pro team
Only one U.S. rider, Jonathan Boyer of the Renault-Elf pro team actually competed that year—the first American ever to ride the Tour.

Who is the only American to win the Tour de France?

Greg LeMond
Before Lance Armstrong, there was Greg LeMond, who is now the first and only American to win the Tour de France. In this engrossing documentary, LeMond looks back at the pivotal 1986 Tour and his increasingly vicious rivalry with friend, teammate and mentor Bernard Hinault.

What teams participate in Tour de France?


  • AG2R Citroën Team.
  • Astana–Premier Tech.
  • Bora–Hansgrohe.
  • Cofidis.
  • Deceuninck–Quick-Step.
  • EF Education–Nippo.
  • Groupama–FDJ.
  • Ineos Grenadiers.

How many American riders are in the 2021 Tour de France?

Twenty-three teams will be participating at the 2021 Tour de France, with 184 riders battling it out for the yellow jersey. Of the 184 riders, only four Americans are participating in the 108th edition of the Tour de France, whose Grand Depart is on 26 June from Brest, Brittany in France.

What American has the most Tour de France wins?

The record number of wins was seven by Lance Armstrong of the United States! (1999-2005) – however after being found guilty of doping by the USADA in 2012, he has lost all of these titles. Four riders have managed to win the Tour five times: Jacques Anquetil of France (1957, 1961, 1962, 1963 and 1964)

How many teams are in the Tour de France?

Teams Twenty-three teams are expected to participate in the 2021 Tour de France. All nineteen UCI WorldTeams are entitled and obliged to enter the race, and they will be joined by four second-tier UCI ProTeams.

What was the distance of the 2012 Tour de France?

The 2012 Tour de France was the 99th edition of the race, one of cycling’s Grand Tours. It started in the Belgian city of Liège on 30 June and finished on the Champs-Élysées in Paris on 22 July. The Tour consisted of twenty-one race stages, including an opening prologue, and covered a total distance of 3,496.9 km (2,173 mi).

Who are the winners of the Tour de France?

Keep up with the leaders of the 2018 Tour. Geraint Thomas won the 2018 Tour de France on Sunday, finishing safely in the peloton at the end of Stage 21. (Alexander Kristoff won the final stage on the Champs-Élysées.) Thomas was joined on the podium by second-place finisher Tom Dumoulin and third-place finisher Chris Froome.

How old are the riders in the Tour de France?

From the riders that began the race, 153 crossed the finish line in Paris. The average rider age was 30.17, with 22-year-old Thibaut Pinot ( FDJ–BigMat) as the youngest rider, and 40-year-old Jens Voigt ( RadioShack–Nissan) the oldest. Of the total average ages, Saur–Sojasun was the youngest team and RadioShack–Nissan the oldest.