Who are the members of the East Asia Summit?

A session of the 10th East Asia Summit, 2015. The East Asia Summit ( EAS) is a regional forum held annually by leaders of, initially, 16 countries in the East Asian, Southeast Asian, and South Asian regions, based on the ASEAN Plus Six mechanism. Membership expanded to 18 countries including Russia and the United States at the Sixth EAS in 2011.

Where was the East Asia Summit held in 2004?

The decision to hold the EAS was reached during the 2004 ASEAN Plus Three summit and the initial 16 members determined at the ASEAN Plus Three Ministerial Meeting held in Laos at the end of July 2005. Credit for advancing the forum during the 2004 ASEAN Plus Three summit has been attributed to Malaysia. President of Russia attended as guest.

When was the first EAS summit in Malaysia?

EAS meetings are held after the annual ASEAN leaders’ meetings, and plays an important role in the regional architecture of Asia-Pacific. The first summit was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on 14 December 2005.

Who was Prime Minister of India during East Asia Summit?

“The East Asia Summit is an important pillar of this policy,” he said. “Look East” was introduced in the early 1990s when the Congress party’s PV Narasimha Rao was prime minister. It was endorsed by former prime ministers Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Manmohan Singh.

ASEAN also participates in the East Asia Summit (EAS), a pan-Asian forum held annually by the leaders of eighteen countries in the East Asian region, with ASEAN in a leadership position. Initially, membership included all member states of ASEAN plus China, Japan, South Korea, India, Australia, and New Zealand,…

Where was the 13th ASEAN Summit held in 2007?

The 13th ASEAN Summit was held in November 2007 in Singapore. The key theme of the discussions was set to be on “Energy, Environment, Climate Change and Sustainable Development”.

What was the outcome of the 9th ASEAN Summit?

At the 9th ASEAN Summit, a meeting in October 2003 in Bali, Indonesia, the leaders of the member states signed a declaration known as the Bali Concord II in which they agreed to pursue closer economic integration by 2020.

What are the itinerary for the ASEAN Summit?

The usual itinerary are as follows: ASEAN leaders hold an internal organisation meeting. ASEAN leaders hold a conference together with foreign ministers of the ASEAN Regional Forum. Leaders of 3 ASEAN Dialogue Partners (also known as ASEAN+3) namely China, Japan and South Korea hold a meeting with the ASEAN leaders.