What mollusks belong to bivalvia?

Clams, mussels, oysters, and scallops are members to the class Bivalvia (or Pelecypodia). Bivalves have two shells, connected by a flexible ligament, which encase and shield the soft vulnerable parts of the creature.

What are chromatophores used for in mollusks?

Cephalopods — squid, octopus and cuttlefish—all have chromatophores, organs with pigment cells that the animals control with muscles, and use for camouflage and communication. The animals can rapidly change the color patterns on their bodies. The patterns are created by the expansion and retraction of chromatophores.

Do mollusks Cephalization?

Both flatworms and molluscs are triploblastic, bilaterally symmetric, and cephalized. But molluscs have developed a true coelom, an internal body cavity enclosed by mesodermal membranes.

What are mollusks characteristics?

Molluscs are a clade of organisms that all have soft bodies which typically have a “head” and a “foot” region. Often their bodies are covered by a hard exoskeleton, as in the shells of snails and clams or the plates of chitons.

What are three common types of class bivalvia?

Snapshot: Bivalvia Common names of representatives: clams, scallops, oysters, mussels.

What is the main function of chromatophores?

The primary function of the chromatophores is camouflage. They are used to match the brightness of the background and to produce components that help the animal achieve general resemblance to the substrate or break up the body’s outline.

Which bacteria contain chromatophores?

Chromatophores contain bacteriochlorophyll pigments and carotenoids. In purple bacteria, such as Rhodospirillum rubrum, the light-harvesting proteins are intrinsic to the chromatophore membranes. However, in green sulfur bacteria, they are arranged in specialised antenna complexes called chlorosomes.

Is there cephalization in Hydra?

Even hydras, which are primitive, radially symmetrical cnidarians , show some degree of cephalization. They have a “head” where their mouth, photoreceptive cells, and a concentration of neural cells are located. Flatworms (phylum Platyhelminthes) are the most primitive animals with bilateral symmetry.

Do mollusks have a complete digestive system?

Clams (and all mollusks) have a complete digestive system. It consists of a mouth where food is ingested, a short connecting tube called the esophogus, a stomach which temporarily holds food, and an intestine where food digestion and absorption takes place. Food is distributed to the cells of the body by blood.

What are 5 characteristics of mollusks?

Characteristic Features of Phylum Mollusca

  • They are bilaterally symmetrical.
  • They are triploblastic, which three layers.
  • They show organ system grade of organisation.
  • The body is soft and unsegmented.
  • Body is divisible into three regions – head, a visceral mass, and ventral foot.
  • Body is covered by a mantle and shell.

What does a salt marsh mollusc look like?

Animals in this phylum are characterized by having a soft body with a “head” and a “foot” region, and a mantle that secretes a shell. While these are shared characteristics, different classes of molluscs can look very different from each other.

How are brachiopods and bivalves alike and different?

Brachiopods are shelled marine organisms that superficially resembled bivalves in that they are of similar size and have a hinged shell in two parts. However, brachiopods evolved from a very different ancestral line, and the resemblance to bivalves only arose because of a similar lifestyle.

What are the 5 classes of marine molluscs?

The phylum Mollusca has five classes including chitons, scaphopods, bivalves, gastropods, and cephalopods. Animals in this phylum are characterized by having a soft body with a “head” and a “foot” region, and a mantle that secretes a shell.

Which is the largest family of Bivalvia in the world?

Bivalvia. The largest recent marine families are the Veneridae, with more than 680 species and the Tellinidae and Lucinidae, each with over 500 species. The freshwater bivalves include seven families, the largest of which are the Unionidae, with about 700 species.