How do I file for child custody in PA?

Keep in mind, some requirements may vary by case and county.

  1. Step 1: Decide whether to e-file. Many Pennsylvania counties let parents file electronically (known as e-filing).
  2. Step 2: Fill out your paperwork.
  3. Step 3: Finalize your paperwork.
  4. Step 4: Open your case.
  5. Step 5: Serve the other parent.

Is a notarized document legal for child custody in PA?

You had the best intentions, but unfortunately, your notarized “CUSTODY AGREEMENT” is not enforceable in Pennsylvania. You actually need a Custody Stipulation signed by a judge that is turned into a Court Order. Only a Court Order can hold both parties accountable to the Court for enforcement.

How much does it cost to file custody papers in PA?

It costs $107.13 to file for custody. It costs an extra $42.68 to file for emergency custody. Fees are different (or none) for other filings. ask to be excused from paying the fee by filing a petition to proceed In Forma Pauperis (IFP).

What is the standard custody agreement in Pennsylvania?

A common 70/30 arrangement, the every 3rd-day schedule has your child live with one parent for two days and the other parent for one day. The every weekend schedule is another 70/30 option. Your child lives with one parent on weekdays and spends weekends with the other.

Can you file for custody Online in PA?

The forms you need to file a petition for custody will be available at your local courthouse, and it may also be possible to get the forms from your local law library or online (see PA Download Court Forms).

At what age can a child refuse visitation in Pennsylvania?

At What Age Can My Child Refuse Visitation? Contrary to popular belief, there is no specific age at which a child can refuse to see a parent or comply with a custody order. In fact, Pennsylvania law defines a “child” as an unemancipated individual under 18 years of age.

Is PA a 50/50 custody State?

Pennsylvania allows for parents to share custody of a minor child after a divorce, and in some cases, that custody is split equally, 50/50. In these situations, the higher-earning parent usually pays child support to the lesser-earning parent for the child’s care.

What is considered an unfit parent in PA?

What makes a parent unfit in PA? Any records proving mental or physical condition that makes the parent incapable of providing care for their child as well as criminal charges and drug use count as strong evidence to show that the parent is not fit to be awarded the custody.

Can a father take away the child from the mother?

The General Rule A parent cannot stop the other parent from seeing the children, except in rare situations. This means that contact cannot be prevented, even in situations like these: A parent refuses to pay child support.

How do Pennsylvania courts decide child custody?

Under Pennsylvania law, Pennsylvania family law courts, including those in Bucks County, are required to decide custody based on a specific legal standard, i.e., the best interests of the child. It’s important to note that there’s no requirement that a family law judge decide a child custody matter.

How does Pennsylvania determine child custody?

A court in Pennsylvania considers several factors in determining child custody. There, it is preferable for parents to reach an agreement on child custody. However, if the court must decide because the parents have a contentious relationship or both want full custody, a Pennsylvania court will consider the best interests of the child in a custody determination.

How do I get custody of my child in Pennsylvania?

The process of obtaining primary custody of a child in Pennsylvania will vary depending on the county in which the case is brought. The first step in commencing custody proceedings in any county is to file a Complaint for Custody.

What are the child custody laws in Pennsylvania?

Pennsylvania’s child custody laws include a gender-neutrality provision to overcome favorable and unfavorable biases towards both genders and help ensure each parent has an equal custody right to their child. A presumption for joint custody exists when both parents are found to be competent caregivers.