Are merit badge worksheets required?

Workbooks can help Scouts organize notes, listen actively, and document their work. These workbooks can help you but you still need to read the merit badge pamphlet. Each Scout must do each requirement.

How many merit badges are there 2021?

You can learn about sports, crafts, science, trades, business, and future careers as you earn merit badges. There are more than 135 merit badges, and any Scout, or any qualified Venturer or Sea Scout may earn any of these at any time.

What is the newest merit badge?

diversity and inclusion” badge
– Boy Scouts of America is launching a new merit badge known as the “diversity and inclusion” badge and it’s in direct support of Black Lives Matter. The badge will take components from their “citizenship in the community” and “American cultures” merit badges.

What merit badge is earned the least?

One look at the requirements, and you’ll see why Invention was the least-earned merit badge in the history of the BSA. To earn it, Scouts had to “invent and patent some useful article” and “show a working drawing or model of the same.”

What are the most fun merit badges?

7 Fun and Interesting Merit Badges To Earn At Home Or By Yourself

  • Traffic Safety.
  • Coin Collecting.
  • Digital Technology.
  • Salesmanship.
  • Entrepreneurship.
  • Exploration.
  • Geneology.

What is the youngest Eagle Scout?

Yes, the latest members of the “youngest Eagle Scouts ever” club are 12 years old. First, the facts. It is, technically, possible to earn Eagle at 12. To join Boy Scouts, you must be a boy who is 11 years old, or one who has completed the fifth grade or earned the Arrow of Light Award and is at least 10 years old.

How many BSA merit badges are there?

In 1911, the BSA manufactured the first official 57 merit badges and began awarding them. The number of badges available has been as high as 127 in 1975 and again in 1987. As of March 2014, the number of badges available is 134. Merit badge types are identifiable by the cloth and manufacturing process used to make them.

What are all the merit badges?

Without further ado, the 13 merit badges needed to reach the rank of Eagle Scout and their difficulty ratings are: First Aid: 4 Citizenship in the Community: 8 Citizenship in the Nation: 6 Citizenship in the World: 5 Communication: 8 Cooking: 7 Personal Fitness: 7 Emergency Preparedness or Lifesaving: 5, 6 Environmental Science or Sustainability: 8, 9 Personal Management: 8

What are Boy Scout merit badges?

Merit badges are awards earned by members of the Boy Scouts of America, based on activities within the area of study by completing a list of periodically updated requirements. The purpose of the merit badge program is to allow Scouts to examine subjects to determine if they would like to further pursue them as a career or vocation.

What was the first merit badge?

The Invention merit badge was one of the BSA’s 57 original merit badges, all introduced in 1911. The first 57 spanned a number of subjects, from Agriculture to Taxidermy. Many of these badges, like Archery , First Aid and Swimming, are still offered today.