How many 4 star flag officers are there?

There are currently 43 active-duty four-star officers in the uniformed services of the United States: 16 in the Army, 3 in the Marine Corps, 9 in the Navy, 11 in the Air Force, 2 in the Space Force, 2 in the Coast Guard, and 0 in the Public Health Service Commissioned Corps.

What is a four-star officer?

Four-star officers are often the most senior commanders in the armed services, having ranks such as (full) admiral, (full) general, colonel general, army general, or in the case of those air forces with a separate rank structure, air chief marshal.

Do 4 star generals have bodyguards?

Many have chefs who deserve their own four-star restaurants. The generals’ personal staff include drivers, security guards, secretaries and people to shine their shoes and iron their uniforms. When traveling, they can be accompanied by police motorcades that stretch for blocks.

Where are the four stars on the Army flag?

Each branch of the military has four designated military officers flags. The military officer flags that have four stars, are an honor reserved for only the highest ranks. For the Army, these four stars are positioned in a straight line on the military officer flags, and are otherwise known as an Army general flag.

How many four star officers are on active duty?

Statutory limits. The U.S. Code of law explicitly limits the total number of four-star officers that may be on active duty at any given time. The total number of active duty general or flag officers is capped at 231 for the Army, 162 for the Navy, 198 for the Air Force, 61 for the Marine Corps.

How many stars does a general officer flag have?

Army Brigadier General Officer Flags have one star, Army Major General Officer Flags have two stars positioned side-by-side, Army Lieutenant General Officer Flags have three stars in a straight horizontal line, and the highest ranking Army General Officer Flags have four stars in a straight horizontal line.

Who are the flag officers in the Navy?

The most senior officers in the Navy are known as flag officers. The phrase “general and flag officers” or “GFO” refers to all officers in paygrades O-7 through O-10, thereby including onestar, two-star, three-star, and four-star officers.