What is DSM-IV depression?

DSM-IV Criteria for Major Depressive Disorder (MDD) • Depressed mood or a loss of interest or pleasure in daily activities for more than two weeks. • Mood represents a change from the person’s baseline. • Impaired function: social, occupational, educational.

What are some of the criteria for depression?

DSM-5 Criteria for Major Depressive Disorder

  • Depressed mood.
  • Loss of interest/pleasure.
  • Weight loss or gain.
  • Insomnia or hypersomnia.
  • Psychomotor agitation or retardation.
  • Fatigue.
  • Feeling worthless or excessive/inappropriate guilt.
  • Decreased concentration.

How does the DSM-5 categorize depression?

The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) classifies the depressive disorders as disruptive mood dysregulation disorder, major depressive disorder (including major depressive episode), persistent depressive disorder (dysthymia), premenstrual …

What is the difference between the DSM 4 and 5?

In the DSM-IV, patients only needed one symptom present to be diagnosed with substance abuse, while the DSM-5 requires two or more symptoms in order to be diagnosed with substance use disorder. The DSM-5 eliminated the physiological subtype and the diagnosis of polysubstance dependence.

What age group has highest rate of depression?

The percentage of adults who experienced any symptoms of depression was highest among those aged 18–29 (21.0%), followed by those aged 45–64 (18.4%) and 65 and over (18.4%), and lastly, by those aged 30–44 (16.8%). Women were more likely than men to experience mild, moderate, or severe symptoms of depression.

What is the DSM 5 definition of depression?

DSM-5 category: Depressive Disorders. Major Depressive Disorder is a DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Ed.) diagnosis assigned to individuals who feel down and/or have lost interest in activities they previously enjoyed. This depressed feeling must occur daily for at least 2 weeks for a diagnosis to be given.

What is DSM IV anxiety?

(DSM-IV Definition) Panic attacks are defined as acute surges of fear or anxiety accompanied by at least four observable cognitive or bodily (physical symptoms of anxiety) lasting from minutes to hours. In most cases, panic attack symptoms reach a peak of intensity within 20 minutes, but can persist for hours after they’ve peaked.

What is the DSM IV code for depression?

Depressive Disorder Not Otherwise Specified (DD-NOS) is designated by the code 311 in the DSM-IV for depressive disorders that are impairing but do not fit any of the officially specified diagnoses. According to the DSM-IV, DD-NOS encompasses “any depressive disorder that does not meet the criteria for a specific disorder.”.

What are the criteria for bipolar disorder?

Bipolar disorder is a mental health condition that’s known for its periods of both mania and depression. The diagnosis for bipolar disorder requires at least one depressive and one manic or hypomanic episode.