What is the new law on child support in Illinois?
Under present law, child support is based on the net income of the child support payer. It is 20% for one child, 28% for two, 32% for three, and 40% for four. Net income is defined in 750 ILCS 5/505 as gross income minus certain specified deductions.
At what age do you stop paying child support in Illinois?
Child support is ordered until the youngest (or only) child reaches the state’s legal age of emancipation. In Illinois, a child is legally emancipated at the age of 18 years. Unless otherwise agreed in writing or provided in the judicial order, current support of a child is terminated upon emancipation.
How far back can child support be claimed in Illinois?
Although a judge has much discretion during these proceedings, the general rule of thumb in Illinois is that child support is retroactive for one or two years before the case was filed.
Do you have to pay child support in Illinois if you have 50/50 custody?
Do You Have To Pay Child Support if You Have Joint Custody in Illinois? Even when parents have 50/50 parenting time, the court could order either party to pay child support. Child support depends on how much each party makes and the amount of time each party has with the child.
What is the maximum child support in Illinois?
If the paying parent’s income is at or below 75% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines (for a one-person family), the court will order a $40/month child support obligation per child. The total monthly obligation for such a paying parent is capped at $120.
Do unmarried parents have equal rights in Illinois?
In Illinois, unmarried fathers have the same equal rights as mothers — but only when they establish paternity.
When did child support laws change in Illinois?
In 2020, the Legislature enacted three major changes to the enforcement provisions for Child Support. First, the statute previously provided that the Department was required to allow the applicant to opt-in to interest enforcement though DCSS for interest enforcement on child support obligations ordered between May 1, 1987 and December 31, 2005.
How is child support calculated in Illinois General Assembly?
(D) to calculate child support based upon the parents’ combined net income estimated to have been allocated for the support of the child if the parents and child were living in an intact household; (E) to adjust child support based upon the needs of the child; and (F) to allocate the amount of child support to be
How old do you have to be to get child support in Illinois?
For purposes of this Section, the term “child” shall include any child under age 18 and any child age 19 or younger who is still attending high school. For purposes of this Section, the term “obligor” means the parent obligated to pay support to the other parent. (1) Child support guidelines. The Illinois Department
What does DCSS do for child support in Illinois?
The Divisions of Child Support Services (DCSS) is the Illinois agency under the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (DHFS) that can assist custodial parents with establishing and enforcing child support obligations for minor children. What services does DCSS provide?