What does Clark level mean in melanoma?

The Clark Level is a staging system that describes the depth of melanoma as it grows in the skin. Your doctor may give you a level for your melanoma in addition to or in place of a stage.

What is Clarks Level 2 melanoma?

Clark’s Level II: Penetration by melanomas into the second layer of the skin, the dermis. Clark’s Levels III-IV: Melanomas invade deeper through the dermis, but are still contained completely within the skin.

Is Clark Level 4 bad?

Sharon was diagnosed with a stage IIA, Clark level IV, 1.73 mm thick malignant melanoma in October 2000. Melanoma, which means “black tumor,” is a malignant mole, or skin cancer. It is among the most malignant of all cancers and can spread to nearly every organ and tissue of the body.

Should I worry about melanoma in situ?

In situ melanomas don’t spread to other parts of the body or cause death, but if the tumor has an opportunity to grow even one millimeter deep into the skin, it can lead to more involved treatment and greater danger. If left untreated, it can metastasize and even become life-threatening.

Does melanoma in situ always progress?

Prognosis: Stage 0 melanoma, or melanoma in situ, is highly curable. There is very little risk for recurrence or metastasis. The 5-year survival rate as of 2018 for local melanoma, including Stage 0, is 98.4%.

What does Clark Level 5 mean?

In Clark Level IV, the cancer has spread into the reticular dermis. In Clark Level V, the cancer has spread into the subcutaneous tissue.

What is the Clark scale for melanoma in situ?

Clark scale. Level 1 is also called melanoma in situ – the melanoma cells are only in the outer layer of the skin (the epidermis) Level 2 means there are melanoma cells in the layer directly under the epidermis (the papillary dermis) Level 3 means the melanoma cells are throughout the papillary dermis and touching on the next layer down…

What are the Clark and Breslow levels of melanoma?

Clark Level. Level 2: Melanoma has invaded the papillary dermis (the outermost layer of the dermis, the next layer of skin). Level 3: Melanoma has invaded throughout the papillary dermis and is touching on the next, deeper layer of the dermis. Level 4: Melanoma has invaded this next deeper layer, the reticular dermis.

What’s the difference between stage 0 and in situ melanoma?

Melanoma in situ is also called stage 0 melanoma. It means there are cancer cells in the top layer of skin (the epidermis). The melanoma cells are all contained in the area in which they started to develop and have not grown into deeper layers of the skin. Some doctors call in situ cancers pre cancer. In a way, they are.

How does a doctor diagnose melanoma in situ?

To diagnose melanoma doctors remove the abnormal area of skin and a small area of surrounding skin. You may then need a second operation to remove a larger area of healthy tissue around where the melanoma was. This is called a wide local excision.