How prestigious is the Turing Award?

It is generally recognized as the highest distinction in computer science and is known as or often referred to as “Nobel Prize of Computing”….Turing Award.

ACM Turing Award
Presented by Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Reward(s) US $1,000,000
First awarded 1966
Last awarded 2020

How many people have received the Turing Award?

This list of Turing Award laureates by university affiliation shows the university affiliations of Turing Award winners since 1966 (as of 2021, 74 winners in total).

Who has won the 2020 ACM Turing Award?

Jeffrey UllmanTuring Award
Alfred AhoTuring Award
2020 Turing Award Ceremony/Winners
Lawrence Gussman Professor Emeritus of Computer Science, Alfred V. Aho has won the 2020 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) A.M. Turing Award, known informally as the “Nobel Prize of computing.” Aho shares the award with his long-time collaborator Jeffrey David Ullman.

What is the most prestigious award in computer science?

Turing Award
Turing Award is an annual prize given by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) to “an individual selected for contributions of a technical nature made to the computing community”. The Turing Award is recognized as the “highest distinction in computer science” and “Nobel Prize of Computing”.

Who funds the Turing Award?

Google, Inc.
Turing Award, often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Computing,” carries a $1 million prize, with financial support provided by Google, Inc. It is named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing.

Who won Turing Award 2021?

The award recognizes computer science talent in high school students and comes with a $10,000 prize, which they will receive at CSTA’s annual conference in July. The 2020-2021 winners are Sahithi Ankireddy, James B.

Why was Leslie Lamport awarded the Turing Award?

Leslie Lamport, in full Leslie B. Lamport, (born February 7, 1941, New York, New York), American computer scientist who was awarded the 2013 Turing Award for explaining and formulating the behaviour of distributed computing systems (i.e., systems made up of multiple autonomous computers that communicate by exchanging messages with one another).

Who are the Past recipients of the Turing Award?

Lamport, 73, becomes the fifth scientist from Microsoft Research to have won the Turing Award, joining previous recipients Tony Hoare (1980), Lampson, Jim Gray (1998), and Chuck Thacker (2009). But despite more than 40 years of nonpareil achievements, Lamport’s self-assessment is not quite so glowing.

When did Leslie Lamport win the test of time award?

The award was established in 2005; Lamport won in 2007, 2012, and 2013. The Test of Time Award from the IEEE Symposium on Logic in Computer Science (LICS), 2008. The award is given annually to the best of the 20-year-old LICS papers that have best met the test of time.

Where did Leslie Lamport do most of his work?

Lamport later accepted the position of principal computer scientist at the Microsoft Research facility in Mountain View, California, in 2001. Throughout his career, Lamport remained concerned with establishing rules to facilitate the process of writing programs and algorithms.